Time to Do More than Just Thinking About Brain Drain

As Published in the Democrat and Chronicle’s Young Professional Blog

You leave home for college, study hard, develop skills, graduate, and then take those skills and education to a bigger market – that is the story of Rochester’s brain drain. But does it have to be that way?

Last May, I graduated from the University of Rochester with a concentration in religion and a minor in business. As a born and bred Brooklynite, I figured that it would be poor judgment for me to stick around Rochester while there are a plethora of opportunities in NYC.

But I was wrong. After flopping around like a fish on deck for the past 4-months, I am moving back to Rochester to work at Foodlinks as an Americorps’ Vista. I always had a hunch that I would find myself back in the old Genesee, but I wasn’t quite sure how or when.

Read More

Leave a comment

Filed under Democrat and Chronicle, Education

Leave a Reply

